Timeshare Cancellation By Cities And States

The initial timeshare contract cancellation process varies by state. This page gives a brief overview of each state’s guidelines for getting out of a timeshare agreement. There are timeshare locations located throughout the United States. Timeshares are also common in other parts of the world, including places like Mexico and the Bahamas. However, there are certain city areas that are hotbeds for timeshare.

Before diving into the specific timeshare hotbeds, let’s go over the rescission periods by states. A rescission period is simply a cooling off period. It gives you a chance to review your timeshare purchase. You will have a period of time to get rid of your timeshare and simply give it back to the developer. Below you will find the length of time to cancel a purchase at no cost. In this window of time you do not need a timeshare cancellation company – you simply give it back the developer.

Take Our Short Quiz and Start Living Life Timeshare Free 🏖️ 💰 ✈️

Step 1 of 6

Free Timeshare Cancellation Periods By State

Below we will list the timeshare give back times by state. Visit this site for a more detailed explanation of laws for each state. The first 3 columns in this table are courtesy of Nolo.

State Right to cancel? Time to cancel Popular Cities
Alabama Yes 5 days (not including Sunday if that is the last day) after signing the contract  
Alaska Sometimes 15 days after receiving the public offering statement (unless the statement is received more than 15 days before signing the contract)  
Arizona Yes 7 calendar days after signing the contract

Lake Havasu

Phoenix

Scottsdale

Sedona

Arkansas Yes 5 days after signing the contract or up until receipt of the public offering statement  
California Yes 7 calendar days after receiving the public report or signing the contract

Carlsbad

San Diego

Colorado Yes 5 calendar days after the sale

Vail

Steamboat Springs

Breckenridge

Connecticut Yes 5 calendar days after signing and receiving a copy of the contract or receiving the timeshare disclosure statement  
Delaware Yes 5 business days after signing the contract  
District of Columbia Yes 15 days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement  
Florida Yes 10 calendar days after signing the contract or receiving all required documents

Orlando

Panama City Beach

Keys/Key West

Daytona Beach

Miami

Destin

Kissimmee

Georgia Yes 7 days (not including Sundays and holidays) after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement  
Hawaii Yes 7 calendar days after signing the contract or receiving the timeshare disclosure statement

Lahaina

Honolulu

Kailua-Kona

Idaho Yes 5 calendar days after signing the contract  
Illinois Yes 5 calendar days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement Chicago
Indiana Yes 72 hours (not including Sundays or legal holidays) after signing the contract  
Iowa Yes 5 business days after receiving the required disclosures  
Kansas Yes, if the transaction is a door-to-door sale 3 business days after signing the contract  
Kentucky Yes 3 or 5 business days after signing the contract  
Louisiana Yes 7 days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement New Orleans
Maine Yes 10 calendar days after the date of the contract (or conveyance) or receiving the disclosure statement  
Maryland Yes 10 calendar days after the contract date, receiving the public offering statement, or the date the unit is ready for occupancy Ocean City
Massachusetts Sometimes 3 business days after receiving the public offering statement (unless the statement is received more than 3 days before signing the contract)  
Michigan Yes Before the unit is conveyed and 9 business days after receiving all required documents  
Minnesota Yes 5 days after receiving a copy of the contract and the public offering statement (if project has more than 100 potential sales)  
Mississippi Yes 7 calendar days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement  
Missouri Yes 5 days after purchase Branson
Montana Yes 7 days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement  
Nebraska Yes 3 business days after receiving the public offering statement  
Nevada Yes 5 calendar days after signing the contract Las Vegas
New Hampshire Yes 5 days after the date of the contract or receiving the public offering statement  
New Jersey Yes 7 days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement Atlantic City
New Mexico Yes 7 days after signing the contract  
New York Yes 7 business days after signing the contract  
North Carolina Yes 5 calendar days after signing the contract  
North Dakota No (North Dakota does not have a timeshare cancellation law, however the contract may provide a cancellation right) See contract  
Ohio Yes, if the transaction is a home solicitation sale 3 business days after signing the contract  
Oklahoma Yes 5 days after receiving a copy of the signed contract and the public offering statement  
Oregon Yes 5 calendar days after signing the first written offer or contract to purchase (or, if no cancellation address is provided, until 5 days after the developer provides an address for cancellation purposes)  
Pennsylvania Sometimes 7 days after receiving the public offering statement (unless the statement is provided more than 7 days before signing the contract) Poconos
Rhode Island Yes 5 business days (excluding weekends and legal holidays) after signing the contract or receiving all required documents  
South Carolina Yes 5 days after signing the contract or receiving the disclosure agreement

Myrtle Beach

Charleston

South Dakota Yes 7 calendar days after signing the contract or receiving the disclosure statement  
Tennessee Yes Until receipt of the public offering statement; within 10 days after signing the contract (if purchaser made an on-site inspection of the timeshare); or within 15 days after signing the contract (if no on-site inspection was conducted)

Pigeon Forge

Gatlinburg

Texas Yes 6 days after signing the contract (and receiving a copy) or receiving the timeshare disclosure statement Galveston
Utah Yes 5 business days after signing the contract  
Vermont Yes, if the transaction is a home solicitation sale 3 business days after signing the contract  
Virginia Yes 7 calendar days after signing the contract (not including Sunday or a legal holiday, if that is the last day)

Williamsburg

Virginia Beach

Washington Yes 7 days after signing the contract or receiving the disclosure statement  
West Virginia Yes 10 days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement  
Wisconsin Yes 5 days after signing the contract or receiving the timeshare disclosure statement (and all amendments and supplements to the statement) Dells
Wyoming Yes, if the transaction is a home solicitation sale 3 business days after signing the contract (so long as the buyer is given a copy of the contract; the name and address for cancellation; and a written statement of cancellation rights — otherwise cancellation period begins when these items are provided)